Monthly Munchies

Today has not been a very good day. I rushed out of the house without eating breakfast, found myself at school getting a headache and experiencing those deadly ‘monthly munchies’, as I like to call them. So, all of the sudden I find myself in front of the vending machine and I’m looking through the various options, which I have done in the past:

Pretzels: These are a filling option, but there are about 3-4 servings in the bag. Since I am starved, I eat the whole thing and before I know it I’ve consumed 9+ PP on a stupid snack.

Gummy Bears: Okay, I am not going to lie. When I saw the “Fat Free” label I thought I was doing great. It wasn’t until after I ate the whole bag did I realize I ate about 16+ PP because, duh, they are filled with sugar.

Beef Jerky: These are okay. Made with turkey and beef, they came to only 1-2 PP for the serving and are filled with protein. The problem is there isn’t nearly enough to satisfy my hunger and they are $1.75 for a tiny handful of plastic beef.

Needless to say, today I didn’t make any of those choices. No, I did worse! I picked out the T.G.I. Friday’s Cheddar and Bacon Potato Skins (7 PP) because I wanted something crunchy and salty to satisfy those monthly munchies that crept on me today. Oh, and because I had something salty, my mouth craved something sweet afterward…so I bought the gummy bears. UGH. I have no willpower sometimes.

I just don’t know how to deal with my munchie problems. I bought caramel rice cakes and white cheddar rice cakes, so those should tide me over while I’m at home…I just have no self-control when I am at school. Looks like I am headed to the gym to work off some of these useless points!!

3 thoughts on “Monthly Munchies

  1. I know what you mean. I go through the same thing when I’m running around all day and I don’t have the chance to eat breakfast, but I found a solution that works for me and it might help you. I usually buy Quaker Chewy Granola Bars and as soon as I come home I stash them in my purse of tote bag. That way the are always handy when you are away from home and I don’t have worry about them as I’m running out the door. Each one is about 100 calories or 3 Weight Watchers points and they really take the edge off. I also make sure that I drink a whole bottle of water to make me feel full. Hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

