All About Me!

I write for a job, I blog for fun — but actually talking about ME is hard, especially when it comes to my weight. My struggle with weight has been about 10 years in the making, ever since I graduated high school. I’ve always been a little chubby, but my junior and senior year I actually felt great about how I looked and felt. I played sports, had an amazing metabolism, and didn’t eat terribly.

Then I graduated high school, and on the first day of college I met my future hubby. Dating consisted of going out to eat for every meal and then sitting around hanging out, and before I knew it, I gained probably about 10 pounds before he left for the Marines only four months later. He was medically discharged about six months after leaving, and then we easily picked up eating out, lounging around and gaining weight. We got married in 2004, and my weight was now up to 164. I remember the scale distinctly! That’s about 40 pounds in 4 years!

After getting married, my weight steadily increased about 10 pounds a year. We ate fast food almost daily and didn’t exercise consistently. I joined Weight Watchers at least twice in a two-year period and sabotaged myself both times. I’d eat whatever I wanted all week, and then the day before weigh-in I wouldn’t eat at all — which kept my weight at the same number for weeks before I’d eventually quit. I tried everything to lose weight, including NutriSystem, but I never kept up with anything. Eventually, that led me to being the heaviest ever at 227.6 pounds on February 5th, 2011.

It’s been about a year since I joined Weight Watchers. I’ve lost 23 pounds, but I still haven’t done the best I could. I don’t track regularly, I skip meals, I rarely exercise…and that’s why I have only lost 23 pounds in 12 months. Well, I’m over it. I am going to experience a lot of life changes in the next few months. I am finally graduating college, and I refuse to walk across the stage to get my diploma being this overweight and unhappy about myself. I am moving to a beach city, which translates to a bathing suit haven. I am 29 years old, and I have wasted my 20’s being self-conscious, unhappy and embarrassed at the way I look. It’s time to be honest, stop hiding and be accountable for my choices.

I’m using this blog as a journal-type platform to write about my struggles, encourage myself and readers with information I take away from Weight Watchers and hopefully build a community of supportive people who are fighting the same fight I am.

Thanks for reading!!

One thought on “All About Me!

Leave a Reply

